Hi, I‘m Julian. I am Bisexual.

I live in the Fargo-Moorhead area in North Dakota. I first knew I was bi when I was very young. I didn’t really have a word for it, but I knew I was different. For a while, I hid “in the closet,” not even knowing what that was, but knowing that liking guys was something people like me (the weak, unpopular, freaky, dark kids) got beat up for really bad. For a long time, I repressed liking guys “that way.” In High School, I finally saw people do liked both the same and opposite genders and were public about it. I was so excited! I couldn’t believe that there were other people like me.
Fast forward to my junior year. Everything is good, I met this girl who was also bisexual we dated for a while but things didn’t work out (we are still friends if it matters to you). Next thing I know, I find myself head over heels for this gay boy in the drama club so I did the stupidest thing I could have possibly done – I joined. Don’t get me wrong it was fun and I even got a lead part my first play. Unfortunately for me, the boy I liked was not in that one.
Senior year, I finally am in a play with this boy and we start talking and flirting a little. Next thing I know, we are making out in a practice room. Taking this as a sign he’s interested, as I think most people would, I dropped off some chocolates in his locker for Valentine’s Day. He was not happy. He calls me and tells me that we are just friends. After this phone call, my heart is completely obliterated. I take the bus home (hour long ride by the way) and cry the whole way home. By the time I get home, my sisters know something’s wrong but don’t ask. My mother (a serious bible thumper), on the other hand, asks me what is wrong.
After telling her a total of (not exaggerating) 22 times that I’m fine – still crying the whole time – I finally snap and say what happened: “this guy I like at school rejected me. I was friend-zoned”
All she says is “a guy?!?”
Yes mom, a guy. I told her the name of the boy. My mother is in shock and just says his name.
“Huh? I thought you liked girls?”
“I do, I just like boys too”
The next day my step-dad asks me the same stuff: Who is he? Do i know him? But dad ends differently (he is a bit of a homophobe).
He says “I knew you were a fag!”
It was under his breath, but i still heard it. So now here I am: single, bisexual, and out of the closet. I work at convenience store in my home town. I play violin, guitar, piano and I sing. I will be going to college shortly. I don’t care what others think of my sexuality. I am happy!

What being bisexual means to me

Being Bisexual means that you love people not for their parts, but for the person inside. We are just lucky enough to be able to connect to both “sides.”

What I would like the world to know about bisexuals

We don’t choose which gender we love. It just happens.

What is the toughest thing about being bisexual?

It’s hard to find the right person for a relationship who is also OK with me being bi. There is a lot of ignorance in the world.

What is the best thing about being bisexual?

Being able to say that’s my boyfriend or that’s my girlfriend and stand openly by my sexuality.

How have other people in your life reacted to your bisexuality?

Some accept it. Others, well, lets not talk about them…

What advice do you have for someone who thinks they may be bi or who is in the process of coming out as bi?

So long as you have at least one person you can truly trust, and who is there for you no matter what, I say you should go for it! The confidence they help you have will make a world of difference.

Contact:  www.bisexualsmeet.com/  Username: Julianwarriors18